Writing Response: character interview

March 24, 2010 at 3:31 pm (character, muse, writing, writing challenge)

Last week, my fellow blogger and fantasy writer Chersti discussed character development. While her post focused on Megan Whalen Turner’s book Queen of Attolia, Chersti brought up some neat ideas about character. My favorite was the idea of interviewing a character. In honor of that idea and a discussion I had with Chersti about muses, I would like to conduct an interview of my own, this time with my muse.

Dreishon: You need me?

Rachel: Yeah, c’mere. I want to interview you for my blog. But only if you promise to behave.

Dreishon: Meaning . . .

Rachel: No bashing on my other characters and no giving away spoilers.

Dreishon: shrugs Whatever.

Rachel: All right. To give my readers context, talk about your first appearance in my novel.

Dreishon: I save your useless protagonist from a moment of stupidity.

Rachel: Well, that was vague.

D:reishon You said no spoilers.

Rachel: facepalms Fine then. Talk about the first story you ever appeared in. The one that never got finished.

Dreishon: Which one are you thinking of? A character with my name showed up in one of your earliest stories. Very noble, very minor, very cliche. Didn’t he die to save the protagonist?

Rachel: Not that one. The group story.

Dreishon: Ah. The one you started in high school with your journalism friends. You decided to write a male character because you were in a group of girls. I seem to recall you writing in a girlfriend for me.

Rachel: Someone else’s character was making moves. I had to protect you. Talk about your character, not your old girlfriend.

Dreishon: I was the mentor in that story. You were the one who came up with the rules of magic, so I got to communicate them to the protagonist. hesitates

Rachel: What’s wrong?

Dreishon: You planned to kill me off at the end of that one, too.

Rachel: Moving on. Tell me about your family.

Dreishon: I can’t.

Rachel: frowning Why not?

Dreishon: Because it involves spoilers.

Rachel: Fine! I’ll ask more boring questions. What’s your favorite color?

Dreishon: Seriously?

Rachel: You’re the one who wouldn’t answer questions.

Dreishon: Red.

Rachel: That’s better. Talk to me about your favorite band.

Dreishon: You know I’m not overly fond of your music. It’s too noisy, too distracting, especially because most of it has lyrics and I can’t multitask as well as you. I don’t mind Yellowcard, though.

Rachel: What about your favorite books?

Dreishon: You haven’t read most of them. My father’s a historian, so I practically grew up in the library archives. You don’t have a long enough attention span to enjoy them, Rachel.

Rachel: Watch it. I’m writing those books.

Dreishon: I also like Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman’s original Dragonlance books. Fizban annoyed me at first, but after finding out he’s a god, I liked him a whole lot more.

Rachel: Dreis! I said no spoilers!

See what I have to put up with?

4 Comments

  1. L.T. Elliot said,

    LOL! Great interview, Rachel. It’s good to see you in the blogosphere. =D

  2. Karen Krueger said,

    This is so fun! I think my blog post tomorrow is going to be an interview with my main character. I’ll link back to you for giving me the idea, of course. 🙂 Speaking of, if you want to check mine out, it’s called Typing with my Toes: http://karenmkrueger.wordpress.com

    Yay for blogs! I’m glad you’re blogging. I’ve become a bit blog-obsessed lately. 🙂

    • Rachel Giddings said,

      I’d love to check out your blog, Karen! 🙂 But you have to give Chersti credit for the interview idea, I actually stole it from her

  3. Starlight Writer said,

    Wonderful post 🙂 I haven’t interviewed my characters yet, I have to try that….I mostly write journal/diary entries for them.

    Maryellen

Leave a Reply

