Confessions of an April Fool

April 1, 2010 at 11:54 am (Uncategorized)

I’m sure that, in the history of April Fool’s Day, tons of pranks have backfired. If you try to do something big, you risk having it blow up in your face.

But has anyone ever unwittingly pranked themselves?

Last night at YPublish, I realized that I hadn’t submitted anything to my fiction workshop today. Not only had I not submitted anything, I hadn’t written anything. I’d been revising Countdown for a full-novel workshop with my friends and decided I had a solution: I could send the first chapter of Countdown to my workshop and have a last set of eyes examine it. Brilliant!

Or so I thought.

Until I woke up today and found out that I had sent chapter two. And not just chapter two, a chapter two of a very old draft. A chapter two that I’d cut.

Despite that, I had an incredible workshop. It was interesting to hear what my peers thought of the world, from structure to characters. All in all, it wasn’t useless.

But I still feel like an April fool.

Leave a Reply

